Breaking News
HAPPY NEW YEAR! We are here for you throughout the year with entertainment news you can use and listings that will keep you on schedule and informed on what is happening in Toronto, the GTA and Southern Ontario. Check back regularly.

Experience Cottage Country

Experience The Great Outdoors

Muskoka District Municipality, Ontario

img-cottageMuskoka is a Regional Municipality located in Central Ontario. Muskoka extends from Georgian Bay in the west, to the northern tip of Lake Couchiching in the south, to the western border of Algonquin Provincial Park in the east. Located approximately two hours north of Toronto, Muskoka spans 2,500 square miles (6,475 km²). Muskoka has some 1,600 lakes, making it a popular resort destination. Indeed, this region, which, along with Haliburton, is referred to as “cottage country”, sees over 2.1 million visitors annually. Muskoka is a scenic area sprinkled with picturesque villages and towns, farming communities, and lakeside vacation hotels and resorts near to golf courses, country clubs, and marinas. The regional government seat is Bracebridge. This area encompasses Lake of Bays township, Georgian Bay township, Muskoka Lakes township and the towns of Huntsville, Bracebridge and Gravenhurst. Peninsula Lake, near Huntsville in Muskoka. Muskoka has just over 50,000 permanent residents, but an additional 100,000 seasonal property owners spend their summers in the region every year, making this a major summer colony. Many of the seasonal properties are large mansion-like summer estates, some of which have been passed down through families from generation to generation. Most of these expensive properties can be found along the shores of Muskoka‘s three major lakes, Lake Muskoka, Lake Rosseau, and Lake Joseph.

Haliburton County, Ontario

Haliburton is a county of Ontario, Canada, known as a tourist and cottage industry area for its scenery and for its resident artists. Minden Hills is the county seat. Haliburton County was established in 1983, but had existed as the Provisional County of Haliburton since 1874. Haliburton County and the village of Haliburton, are named after Thomas Chandler Haliburton, author, statesman, and the first chairman of the Canadian Land and Emigration Company. Haliburton is a village on Head Lake inside Haliburton County which is its namesake. The county also contains the village of Minden, as well as the smaller communities of Wilberforce, Gooderham, Irondale, West Guildford, and Eagle Lake. The county borders Algonquin Park on the north.

Simcoe County, Ontario

Simcoe is a county located in central Ontario, originally established as “Simcoe District” in 1843 by the Legislature of Upper Canada. The population currently stands at approximately 266,100 (Source: County of Simcoe 2007 Budget), but Statistics Canada, which includes the separated cities of Barrie and Orillia in its calculations of the Simcoe County census division, gives the population as 422,204. The land area of the county is 1,868.95 square miles (4,840.56 km²). It is located between Georgian Bay and Lake Simcoe. The elevated Niagara Escarpment runs through sections of the western part of the county. The county seat is Springwater Township, just outside of Barrie.

Kawartha Lakes, Ontario

The City of Kawartha Lakes (2006 population 74,561) is a city in east-central Ontario, Canada. Although designated as a “city”, it is a largely rural area. The municipality is named for the Kawartha lakes (“Kawartha,” shortened from Gaa-waategamaag, means “shining waters” in the Ojibwe language). The main population centres are Omemee, Lindsay, Fenelon Falls, Woodville, and Bobcaygeon.

Peterborough County, Ontario

Peterborough County was founded as the District of Colborne in 1838, centered around Peterborough, which became the County of Peterborough in 1850. In 1862, the County was redivided into Haliburton County, Peterborough County, and Victoria County (now the City of Kawartha Lakes). The centre of the County was originally the courthouse, which is still considered an important historical site. The southern section of the county is mix of agriculture, urban and lakefront properties. The northern section of the county is mostly sparsely populated wilderness with numerous rivers and lakes, mostly within the recently expanded Kawartha Highlands Provincial Park.